For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:
libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk
01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)
Find us and check our opening hours
Feedback on our services
Urgent help and support for mental health
Including e-books that are already in our collection, or available as open access, can be a great way to improve accessibility to resources for your students. To see which e-books we have access to, search Discovery for your topic and filter the results to ‘Books’, ‘Available Online’ and ‘Open Access’.
Please ensure that reading lists for modules delivered online contain only online (electronic) resources. Students taking these modules will not have access to our print books held at Middlesbrough campus.
If it’s absolutely imperative for students to read one particular chapter of a book (or up to 10% of the total publication) which is only available in print book format then consider using the Scanning for Teaching service.
There are lots of online resources which can be added using the Discovery search:
See the written guidance below for step by step instructions on how to add these onto your reading list.
If you can’t find any suitable e-books on Discovery try these open access resources. Use the Talis Extension or bookmarklet tool to add them onto your reading lists.
The B.C. Open Collection provides access to a range of open educational resources (OER) across a variety of subject areas.
The Bloomsbury Collections Open Access e-book collection includes coverage from the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Open access books from Cambridge University Press.
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a central repository for open access textbooks.
Google Books provides free access to some electronic book samples and previews. The content which is free to access is subject to change.
IntechOpen provides access to a range of free textbooks covering: Physical Sciences, Engineering and Technology; Life Sciences; Health Sciences; and Social Sciences and Humanities.
Knowledge Unlatched operates a crowd-funding model whereby libraries pay into a fund and Knowledge Unlatched uses these funds to make scholarly books open access and available to all via the Open Research Library. There is a very broad discipline focus including; education, science, mathematics, engineering and languages.
LibreTexts gives access to over 4000 OER textbooks authored or curated by the LibreTexts community. You can explore and search all of the libraries from LibreTexts here.
MERLOT Materials provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline educational resources, some of which are available via open access. You can filter the results by Material Type, to show only open access textbooks.
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool for open content which covers a range of subject areas.
OER Commons is an online repository for learning resources. It provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline Open Educational Resources including textbooks.
The Online Books Page provides an index to books which are freely accessible.
The Open Research Library (ORL) provides access to Open Access books from around the world and covers a range of subject categories.
OpenStax publish openly licensed college textbooks that are freely available online.
The Open Textbook Library provides free access to textbooks across a range of subject areas.
Springer Nature publishes open access books across a wide range of areas in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences
UCL Press provides open access to monographs, edited collections and textbooks.
The University of Westminster Press (UWP) is a digital-first open access publisher of peer reviewed academic books, policy briefs and journals. Subject coverage includes: social sciences and humanities, science and technology, and media arts and design.
Use Journal Finder to add useful electronic journal titles from Teesside University, to your reading lists. There are step by step instructions on how to do this available in the PDF below.
CORE (COnnecting REpositories) provides open access to scholarly literature from around the world.
Google Scholar provides free access to some academic literature. Please note that not all content in Google Scholar is freely available.
MERLOT Materials provides access to a broad range of multi-discipline educational resources, some of which are available via open access. You can filter the results by Material Type, to show only open access journal articles..
Springer Nature publishes open access journal articles across a wide range of areas in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences
The University of Westminster Press (UWP) is a digital-first open access publisher of peer reviewed academic books, policy briefs and journals. Subject coverage includes: social sciences and humanities, science and technology, and media arts and design.
The library subscribes to a lot of useful online databases and you might find it useful to bookmark some of these on your reading list. Instructions on how to do this are in the PDF below. You can see the full range of databases in the A-Z list or you can filter the list to show specific subject resources.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. There is a series of instructional videos to help using BoB. Users will need to register when logging in to BoB for the first time, and then complete registration by clicking on the link in the verification email. Students will need to register in order to view any clips you bookmark on your reading lists.
Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.
BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education. Our academically focused system allows staff and students at subscribing institutions to record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels and search our extensive archive (including BBC, ITV, Channel 4, Film4 and more) .
For use in the UK only. If you are in a non-EU country the licence and associated exceptions in law do not apply and may not access BoB content even if you are an authorised user in the UK.
To record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search the archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts
Features:
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
TED is devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.
YouTube is home to lots of useful videos on a variety of topics.
Some useful education Channels on You Tube include:
Instructions on how to bookmark videos from this site are below.
Database which offers a comprehensive news collection. Most of the content from NewsBank is searchable in Discovery and it easier to bookmark articles that way. However, if you prefer, you can search the database separately and bookmark directly from NewsBank. Content also includes videos and podcasts.
Instructions on how to bookmark from this site are below.
This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
It includes 221 full-colour image edition newspapers from across the world.
Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
PressReader gives access to over 7000 newspapers and magazines.
Instructions on how to bookmark newspapers, magazines and articles from this site are below.
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Click the image below to see an example of a reading list which only contains online material, utilising the resources listed above.
They can report the broken link anonymously, or they can provide their details and get notified when the link has been updated. Clicking on Report sends the details to the Library.
The reports will then be picked up by the Library who will investigate.