LibGuides: Leadership: Finding Journal Articles and Business Information

Using databases for your subject

Using databases for your subject
Other relevant databases

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are listed in order of relevance for your subject. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For help searching the databases contact your Business information team. Their details are on the Home page.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only.

African Journals Online
African Journals Online (AJOL) hosts 372 Open Access Journals and has been working since 1998 to make African research accessible to African researchers and to the rest of the world.
Business Source Ultimate
Coverage includes business, management and leadership journal articles, financial data, case studies, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses.
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Emerald Premier
Full text journal articles covering; HR, business, management, strategy, marketing, accounting, finance & economics
Can I access this resource?
To access Emerald Insight you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or staff member
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Emerald Insight licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
FAME
FAME contains company accounts, ratios, activities, ownership and management for the largest 2.6 million UK and Irish companies, plus summary information for a further 1 million smaller businesses. Very little textural information is provided.
Can I access this resource?
To access FAME you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to this resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FAME licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
Fitch Connect (formerly BMI Research)
Fitch Connect Country Risk and Industry Research (formerly BMI Research) – provides users with macroeconomic data, country risk research and industry research. You can access economic forecasts, historical data and analysis on over 200 countries and territories globally, as well as in-depth market sizing and competitive intelligence across 22 industries.
Can I access this resource?
To access Fitch Connect you must be either:
- A UK-based Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A UK-based member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource
Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Fitch Solutions licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
FT.com
In depth coverage of UK and International business, finance, economic and political news
For information on how to access FT.COM go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access FT.COM you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the FT.COM licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
IBIS World
IBISWorld provides industry research reports.
Can I access this resource?
To access IBIS World you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for IBIS World can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (I to L)
Mintel Oxygen
Mintel is a marketing database containing detailed reports on current market information including subjects such as leisure, consumer goods, travel, retail and industrial reports. Reports can be downloaded or printed in sections.
Can I access this resource?
To access Mintel Oxygen you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
Distil, précis, digest and analyse the information comprised in the Services as part of a live project conducted as a requirement as part of their academic course PROVIDED THAT as a maximum, ONLY the lesser of 2.5% of any single Mintel report forming part of the Services, and 25% of a section within any single Mintel report, (such percentages to exclude indexes and contents pages) is included in a dissertation or thesis by way of a direct extract AND PROVIDED THAT any such précis, summary or analysis of the information is clearly identified as having been derived from, but is not a faithful reproduction of Mintel’s or other hosted publisher’s information.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of Mintel Oxygen can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PsycINFO
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, physiology and sociology. Over 55,000 references are added annually.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Sage Journals Online
A comprehensive package of journals including business and management journals.
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Premier licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, academics and students with their research projects.
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Sage Research Methods Cases
A collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
WARC
Coverage includes marketing and advertising data.
Can I access this resource?
To access WARC you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University Academic Staff
- A member of Teesside University Library Staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
Your access to and use of the Services is restricted and is permitted for the Users’ own educational, research and academic purposes only except that your employees may use a reasonable amount of the Services into course or study packs for your students’ educational purposes. You may not designate any other individuals (including employees and individual contractors of your Affiliates) as Users. You agree not to permit any third-party to access the Services except as expressly authorized in a separate Third-Party Access Agreement provided by us. We will identify and authenticate Users by using IP addresses and/or ranges of IP addresses provided by you. Users may only access the Services via your secured network. You will make reasonable efforts to ensure that Users are aware of the rights and restrictions governing the access and use of the Services as contained in this Contract and that these rights and restriction are complied with. Immediately upon becoming aware of any unauthorized use or other breach by any User, you will inform us and take all reasonable and appropriate steps, including disciplinary action both to ensure that such activity ceases and to prevent any recurrence.
A copy of the full terms of the WARC licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

ASSIA
ASSIA is a bibliographic database which gives references (with abstracts) to the literature of the applied social sciences, including business & management.
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
JSTOR
An archive of many of the core research journals in the fields primarily of humanities and social sciences.
Current journal issues are not included.
Can I access this resource?
To access JSTOR you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the JSTOR licence can be found below.

USER RULES - JSTOR'S TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

By using the JSTOR Archive you agree to abide by the following Terms and Conditions:

1. JSTOR hereby grants you a nonexclusive, limited license to use the articles and other materials in the JSTOR archive (the "Content") in accordance with these Terms and Conditions (the "License"). You may not sublicense, assign or transfer the License, and any attempt at such sublicense, assignment or transfer is void. JSTOR has obtained the right to provide the Content from the publishers of the journals contained in the archive, and copyright therein is retained by the publishers.

2. The Content is intended for the personal, non-commercial use of Authorised Users of the JSTOR archive. For information on Authorised Users and Permitted Uses contact your library or organization. Unless prior written permission has been obtained from JSTOR and the publisher of such Content, You may not download from the JSTOR archive an entire issue of a journal, significant portions of the entire run of a journal, or a significant number of sequential articles. In order to obtain an entire issue of a journal please contact the journal publisher. In addition, you may not (i) attempt to override, circumvent, or disable any encryption features or software protections employed in the JSTOR Platform; (ii) undertake any activity such as the use of computer programs that automatically download or export Content or otherwise burden the JSTOR server(s) or any third-party server(s) being used or accessed in connection with the JSTOR Platform; or (iii) undertake coordinated or systematic activity between or among two or more individuals and/or entities that, in the aggregate, constitutes downloading and/or distributing a significant portion of the Content. The restrictions on use of Content as set forth in this License shall survive any termination of the License.

3. Additional restrictions, or fewer restrictions, may apply to your use of certain Content. Copyright is not claimed as to any work of the United States government.

4. You must maintain all copyright and other notices contained in any Content in the course of any use of such Content.

5. The JSTOR Platform and any trademarks, issued patents and patent applications, copyrights and copyright registrations and applications, rights in ideas, designs, works of authorship, derivative works, and all other intellectual property rights relating to the JSTOR Platform and its participating libraries, universities, publishers, scholarly societies, and journals are proprietary to JSTOR or, as applicable, the aforementioned entities, subject to the rights of third parties pursuant to United States copyright laws, international conventions, and other laws. Other than as permitted above with respect to Content, you may not reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale of, modify, create derivative works from, display, or in any way exploit, the JSTOR archive in whole or in part. You have no rights to the proprietary software and related documentation provided to you to access the JSTOR archive ("Access Software"). You may not copy, distribute, modify, reverse engineer, or create derivative works from Access Software.

6. JSTOR© and the JSTOR logo are trademarks of JSTOR. Your use of the JSTOR archive implies no right in these trademarks.

7. The JSTOR archive may contain links to or may be accessible from links within related or unrelated World Wide Web sites and resources. JSTOR is not responsible for the availability or contents of these outside resources. You should direct any concerns regarding any such link to its site administrator.

8. THE JSTOR PLATFORM, CONTENT, AND ACCESS SOFTWARE ARE PROVIDED ON AN "AS IS" BASIS, AND JSTOR AND ANY AND ALL THIRD PARTY CONTENT AND SOFTWARE PROVIDERS AND/OR LICENSORS (“CONTENT PROVIDERS”) DISCLAIM ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, CONDITIONS, OR REPRESENTATIONS OF ANY KIND, EITHER EXPRESS, IMPLIED, ORAL, OR WRITTEN, RELATING TO JSTOR, CONTENT, ACCESS SOFTWARE, OR ANY PARTS THEREOF, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY AND ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, NON-INFRINGEMENT, COMPATIBILITY, MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS MAKE NO WARRANTIES RESPECTING ANY HARM THAT MAY BE CAUSED BY THE TRANSMISSION OF A COMPUTER VIRUS, WORM, TIME BOMB, LOGIC BOMB OR OTHER SUCH COMPUTER PROGRAM, EXCEPT THAT JSTOR WILL EXERCISE A REASONABLE LEVEL OF CARE TO PREVENT SUCH OCCURRENCES. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS FURTHER DISCLAIM ANY LIABILITY AND MAKE NO WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE CONTENT, INFORMATION, MATERIALS OR OTHER SERVICES INCLUDED IN OR OTHERWISE MADE AVAILABLE BY OR THROUGH JSTOR. YOU HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT USE OF THE JSTOR ARCHIVE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK.

9. You may not authorize use of the JSTOR archive by anyone who is not an Authorised User. You may not set up a proxy or anonymous e-mailer for purposes of allowing access to JSTOR.

10. You shall notify JSTOR of any known or suspected unauthorised use(s) of your account, if applicable, or any known or suspected breach of security, including loss, theft, or unauthorised disclosure or use of your password or IP address. You are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password, if applicable, and for all usage or activity on your account, including use of the account by anyone authorised by you to use your password. Any use of the JSTOR archive beyond the scope of the License, knowing use of the password of another, or any fraudulent, abusive, or otherwise illegal activity, may be grounds for termination of your account, or termination of access to JSTOR from your IP address, without notice and at JSTOR's sole discretion. The foregoing includes but is not limited to activity that may burden JSTOR's server(s) such as computer programs that automatically download Content, commonly known as web robots, spiders, crawlers, wanderers or accelerators.

11. In the event of violation of these User Rules by You, (a) JSTOR may suspend or terminate, or, where practicable, request that your Institution suspend or terminate, Your access to the Licensed Content; (b) JSTOR may suspend or terminate the access of the Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) or other authorization and authentication mechanisms from which such unauthorized use occurred; and/or (c) JSTOR may request your Institution to consider the imposition of further reasonable restrictions on access to, and downloading and printing from, the JSTOR Platform.

12. Where You are able to submit material and/or post comments on the JSTOR Platform, You represent and warrant that You will not upload or otherwise publish through JSTOR any materials that: (a) are protected by copyright, or other proprietary or intellectual property rights; (b) are libelous, defamatory, obscene, pornographic, abusive, or invasive of another’s privacy or hateful; or (c) contain a virus, spyware, or other harmful component, advertising of any kind, or false or misleading indications of origin or statements of fact. You acknowledge and agree that any material that You submit or comments that You post may be edited, removed, modified, and/or published by JSTOR without notice.
13. Use of JSTOR indicates acceptance of JSTOR’s Privacy Policy, available http://about.jstor.org/privacy as it may be amended from time to time. ITHAKA does not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from anyone under the age of 16. If it is discovered that we have collected PII from someone under 16 we promptly will delete that information.

14. This Licence shall be interpreted and construed according to, and governed by, United States Federal law excluding any such laws or conventions that might direct the application of the laws of another jurisdiction, and venue will lie exclusively in the federal and state courts of the United States, excluding any such laws to the contrary.

15. JSTOR may change these Terms and Conditions, or any aspect of the JSTOR archive, at any time.

16. If any provision or provisions of this Licence shall be held to be invalid, illegal, unenforceable, or in conflict with the law of any jurisdiction, the validity, legality, and enforceability of the remaining provisions shall not be in any way affected or impaired thereby.
NewsBank: Access World News
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Can I access this resource?
To access NewsBank Newspapers UK you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University academic staff
- A member of Teesside University Library staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the NewsBank Newspapers UK licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PressReader
PressReader has over 7000 newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 different languages. Issues of magazines and newspapers appear as they would do in print as soon as they are published.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
For information on how to access PressReader go to: Access Instructions

Can I access this resource?
To access PressReader you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PressReader licence can be found below
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
ScienceDirect
A comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals including business and management.
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Scopus tab

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Taylor and Francis Online
In this journal collection we have access to:
1475 titles in Social Science and Humanities Library
532 titles in Science & Technology Library
203 titles in Medical Library
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Taylor and Francis Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Taylor and Francis Journals Online licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A to Z)
Tees Valley Unlimited’s Information Hub
Tees Valley Unlimited's Information Hub provides access to a range of local statistical information
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Wiley Online Library
Access 8 million articles from 1,600 journals, and over 22,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks, dictionaries, companions, and landmark book series. Titles cover the full spectrum of life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Wiley Online Library you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Wiley Online Library can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Developing Keywords