LibGuides: Clinical Psychology: Finding Journal Articles

Connect with us on social media

Answering enquiries Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm

Contact the Library

For help with a variety of enquiries you can contact the Library by:

libraryhelp@tees.ac.uk

01642 342100 (Monday - Friday 9am to 5pm)

Find us and check our opening hours

Feedback on our services

Urgent help and support for mental health

Journal Articles

What are journals?

They are:

like magazines but of a scholarly nature
published at regular intervals with no predetermined end
contain articles on a variety of topics
the articles are written by different authors
sometimes they also contain reviews and other information
in printed and electronic formats

Why Should I use them?

journal time is much quicker than for a book
using information from journals will keep you up to date and informed of new developments in your subject
journals articles are more specific than books. They give you more detailed information in a more scholarly and concise format
subject may not yet (or may never) be covered in books
quality research - academic reputation - peer reviewed.

What does peer reviewed mean?

Written by an academic, who is a specialist in the subject
Submitted to an editor, who then passes the work to other professionals or 'peers' for a critiques, the work is then passed back to the original writer for changes to be made before being published
Longer articles, heavily text based
Charts, tables, statistics and images
Properly referenced with a list of references at the end of the article.

Databases for your subject

For more specialist searching use an online database

What are online databases?

Databases are specialist search engines that search for quality information, such as journals articles, in specific subject areas.

The databases below are specific psychological databases. Hover over the icons to see what help is available.

For more health related databases, social sciences or criminological databases see the list under the relevant tabs in this box.

For a list of general databases covering different subject areas - which will still be very useful for psychology - see the General databases tab.

For help searching the databases contact your Psychology information team. Details on the Home page.

If prompted to login, most resources require your standard Teesside University Username and Password. Some resources may require a different login and details can be found in the description for each database.

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only.

Third party accessibility information for each resource is also provided where possible.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, books, technical reports and dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, physiology and sociology. Over 55,000 references are added annually.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This database provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection also provides particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
PsycTESTS
Database of psychological tests and measures designed for use with social and behavioral science research.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the PsycArticles, PsycINFO & PsycTESTS licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M to P)
PTSDpubs
Produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

CogPrints
Free access to thousands of working papers covering Psychology, Neurosciences and Linguistics

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

ASSIA
ASSIA is a bibliographic database which gives references (with abstracts) to the literature of the applied social sciences, including social policy, social services, society, family issues, economics, politics, employment, race relations, health, education and youth work. The abstracts are taken from over 550 English language journals from 16 countries. Coverage is from 1987, with information being updated monthly.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access ProQuest databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource.

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms for ProQuest can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (M-P) (This link opens in a new window)
Criminal Justice Abstracts (with full text)
Published by Ebsco, this resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. There are more than 300,000 records and full text comes from 200 magazines and journals, as well full-text books & monographs.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Over 700 books and research reports available free from the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. The JRF are one of the largest social policy research and development charities in the UK, spending about £10 million a year on a research and development programme that seeks to better understand the causes of social difficulties and explore ways of overcoming them. The research is carried out in partnership with a large variety of academic and other institutions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more. Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H) (This link opens in a new window)
Cochrane Library Online
For use in England only
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation;
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Other databases include: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab
EMBASE
EMBASE is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
The Embase (EMED) Database has been reloaded to implement the 2024.03 Thesaurus Tool.

Further Help and guidance is available at https://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Embase tab
Can I access this resource?
To access Embase you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Embase licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E to H)
MEDLINE
MEDLINE is the main source for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. It covers 4,600 journals from 1950 to the present.
Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access EBSCOhost databases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Ebsco licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (E-H)
Community Care Inform - Adults
Community Care Inform Adults is the online resource that enables social care professionals to make robust, evidence-based decisions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
To login to this resource:
Select 'Log In'
Search for 'Teesside University' in the Institution Login box
Click 'Find'
Click 'Teesside University' to confirm the correct institution
Click 'Login'
Login using your University email address and password

Can I access this resource?
To access Community Care Inform - Adults you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Community Care Inform - Adults licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)
Community Care Inform - Children
Community Care Inform is the online resource that enables social care professionals to make robust, evidence-based decisions.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
To login to this resource:
Select 'Log In'
Search for 'Teesside University' in the Institution Login box
Click 'Find'
Click 'Teesside University' to confirm the correct institution
Click 'Login'
Login using your University email address and password

Can I access this resource?
To access Community Care Inform - Children you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Community Care Inform - Children licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (A-D) (This link opens in a new window)

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

Ingenta
Ingenta is a multidisciplinary database which offers access to article summaries from over 28,000 publications. Fulltext access is available to subscribers of particular publications although for a definitive view please follow the Electronic Journals page. Non-subscribers can, for the majority of articles, pay-per-view choosing from electronic, fax or ariel delivery. Please see also Zetoc (Electronic Table of Contents from the British Library) available at http://zetoc.mimas.ac.uk/
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
JSTOR
An archive of many of the core research journals in the fields primarily of humanities and social sciences.
Current journal issues are not included.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access JSTOR you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the JSTOR licence can be found below.

USER RULES - JSTOR'S TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF USE

By using the JSTOR Archive you agree to abide by the following Terms and Conditions:

1. JSTOR hereby grants you a nonexclusive, limited license to use the articles and other materials in the JSTOR archive (the "Content") in accordance with these Terms and Conditions (the "License"). You may not sublicense, assign or transfer the License, and any attempt at such sublicense, assignment or transfer is void. JSTOR has obtained the right to provide the Content from the publishers of the journals contained in the archive, and copyright therein is retained by the publishers.

2. The Content is intended for the personal, non-commercial use of Authorised Users of the JSTOR archive. For information on Authorised Users and Permitted Uses contact your library or organization. Unless prior written permission has been obtained from JSTOR and the publisher of such Content, You may not download from the JSTOR archive an entire issue of a journal, significant portions of the entire run of a journal, or a significant number of sequential articles. In order to obtain an entire issue of a journal please contact the journal publisher. In addition, you may not (i) attempt to override, circumvent, or disable any encryption features or software protections employed in the JSTOR Platform; (ii) undertake any activity such as the use of computer programs that automatically download or export Content or otherwise burden the JSTOR server(s) or any third-party server(s) being used or accessed in connection with the JSTOR Platform; or (iii) undertake coordinated or systematic activity between or among two or more individuals and/or entities that, in the aggregate, constitutes downloading and/or distributing a significant portion of the Content. The restrictions on use of Content as set forth in this License shall survive any termination of the License.

3. Additional restrictions, or fewer restrictions, may apply to your use of certain Content. Copyright is not claimed as to any work of the United States government.

4. You must maintain all copyright and other notices contained in any Content in the course of any use of such Content.

5. The JSTOR Platform and any trademarks, issued patents and patent applications, copyrights and copyright registrations and applications, rights in ideas, designs, works of authorship, derivative works, and all other intellectual property rights relating to the JSTOR Platform and its participating libraries, universities, publishers, scholarly societies, and journals are proprietary to JSTOR or, as applicable, the aforementioned entities, subject to the rights of third parties pursuant to United States copyright laws, international conventions, and other laws. Other than as permitted above with respect to Content, you may not reproduce, publish, distribute, transmit, participate in the transfer or sale of, modify, create derivative works from, display, or in any way exploit, the JSTOR archive in whole or in part. You have no rights to the proprietary software and related documentation provided to you to access the JSTOR archive ("Access Software"). You may not copy, distribute, modify, reverse engineer, or create derivative works from Access Software.

6. JSTOR© and the JSTOR logo are trademarks of JSTOR. Your use of the JSTOR archive implies no right in these trademarks.

7. The JSTOR archive may contain links to or may be accessible from links within related or unrelated World Wide Web sites and resources. JSTOR is not responsible for the availability or contents of these outside resources. You should direct any concerns regarding any such link to its site administrator.

8. THE JSTOR PLATFORM, CONTENT, AND ACCESS SOFTWARE ARE PROVIDED ON AN "AS IS" BASIS, AND JSTOR AND ANY AND ALL THIRD PARTY CONTENT AND SOFTWARE PROVIDERS AND/OR LICENSORS (“CONTENT PROVIDERS”) DISCLAIM ANY AND ALL OTHER WARRANTIES, CONDITIONS, OR REPRESENTATIONS OF ANY KIND, EITHER EXPRESS, IMPLIED, ORAL, OR WRITTEN, RELATING TO JSTOR, CONTENT, ACCESS SOFTWARE, OR ANY PARTS THEREOF, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY AND ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF QUALITY, PERFORMANCE, NON-INFRINGEMENT, COMPATIBILITY, MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS MAKE NO WARRANTIES RESPECTING ANY HARM THAT MAY BE CAUSED BY THE TRANSMISSION OF A COMPUTER VIRUS, WORM, TIME BOMB, LOGIC BOMB OR OTHER SUCH COMPUTER PROGRAM, EXCEPT THAT JSTOR WILL EXERCISE A REASONABLE LEVEL OF CARE TO PREVENT SUCH OCCURRENCES. JSTOR AND ALL CONTENT PROVIDERS FURTHER DISCLAIM ANY LIABILITY AND MAKE NO WARRANTIES WITH RESPECT TO THE CONTENT, INFORMATION, MATERIALS OR OTHER SERVICES INCLUDED IN OR OTHERWISE MADE AVAILABLE BY OR THROUGH JSTOR. YOU HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGE THAT USE OF THE JSTOR ARCHIVE IS AT YOUR SOLE RISK.

9. You may not authorize use of the JSTOR archive by anyone who is not an Authorised User. You may not set up a proxy or anonymous e-mailer for purposes of allowing access to JSTOR.

10. You shall notify JSTOR of any known or suspected unauthorised use(s) of your account, if applicable, or any known or suspected breach of security, including loss, theft, or unauthorised disclosure or use of your password or IP address. You are responsible for maintaining the confidentiality of your password, if applicable, and for all usage or activity on your account, including use of the account by anyone authorised by you to use your password. Any use of the JSTOR archive beyond the scope of the License, knowing use of the password of another, or any fraudulent, abusive, or otherwise illegal activity, may be grounds for termination of your account, or termination of access to JSTOR from your IP address, without notice and at JSTOR's sole discretion. The foregoing includes but is not limited to activity that may burden JSTOR's server(s) such as computer programs that automatically download Content, commonly known as web robots, spiders, crawlers, wanderers or accelerators.

11. In the event of violation of these User Rules by You, (a) JSTOR may suspend or terminate, or, where practicable, request that your Institution suspend or terminate, Your access to the Licensed Content; (b) JSTOR may suspend or terminate the access of the Internet Protocol (“IP”) address(es) or other authorization and authentication mechanisms from which such unauthorized use occurred; and/or (c) JSTOR may request your Institution to consider the imposition of further reasonable restrictions on access to, and downloading and printing from, the JSTOR Platform.

12. Where You are able to submit material and/or post comments on the JSTOR Platform, You represent and warrant that You will not upload or otherwise publish through JSTOR any materials that: (a) are protected by copyright, or other proprietary or intellectual property rights; (b) are libelous, defamatory, obscene, pornographic, abusive, or invasive of another’s privacy or hateful; or (c) contain a virus, spyware, or other harmful component, advertising of any kind, or false or misleading indications of origin or statements of fact. You acknowledge and agree that any material that You submit or comments that You post may be edited, removed, modified, and/or published by JSTOR without notice.
13. Use of JSTOR indicates acceptance of JSTOR’s Privacy Policy, available http://about.jstor.org/privacy as it may be amended from time to time. ITHAKA does not knowingly collect personally identifiable information from anyone under the age of 16. If it is discovered that we have collected PII from someone under 16 we promptly will delete that information.

14. This Licence shall be interpreted and construed according to, and governed by, United States Federal law excluding any such laws or conventions that might direct the application of the laws of another jurisdiction, and venue will lie exclusively in the federal and state courts of the United States, excluding any such laws to the contrary.

15. JSTOR may change these Terms and Conditions, or any aspect of the JSTOR archive, at any time.

16. If any provision or provisions of this Licence shall be held to be invalid, illegal, unenforceable, or in conflict with the law of any jurisdiction, the validity, legality, and enforceability of the remaining provisions shall not be in any way affected or impaired thereby.
Sage Journals Online
Sage Journals Online provides access to the following collections:
Premier Journals Collection portfolio of 1,101 titles
SAGE IMechE portfolio of 18 titles
SAGE RSM portfolio of 28 titles
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Journals Online you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Premier licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
ScienceDirect
An extremely popular comprehensive database of primary literature which provides the full-text of more than 2,500 peer-reviewed scientific, technical and medical journals
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Science Direct Journals you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Science Direct Journals licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Scopus
Easy to use and comprehensive, Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature covering 20,500 journals.

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Scopus tab

Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Scopus you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Scopus licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Web of Science
An abstracting & indexing database covering over 12,000 journals via the Science Citation Index Expanded, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Conference proceedings for science and social sciences & humanities are also indexed
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Web of Science you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student or member of teaching staff at a TUCP College
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Web of Science licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (U to Z)

Campbell Collaboration
Systematic reviews of social, educational and criminological interventions

Cochrane Library Online
For use in England only
The Cochrane Library is the main database for evidence based healthcare and is comprised of several databases, the main one being The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR). This database gives full text of completed reviews carried out by the Cochrane Collaboration, plus protocols for reviews currently in preparation;
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Other databases include: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE) - abstracts of other systematic reviews; NHS Economic Evaluation Database (register of published economic evaluations of health care interventions); Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (bibliography of clinical trials); Cochrane Review of Methodology Register (bibliography of research synthesis).

Further Help and guidance is available at http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/cinahl/support - please select the Cochrane Library tab

Please note that all databases are provided for educational use only

Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)
Sage Research Methods Cases
Search and browse this collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.
Accessibility Statement (This link opens in a new window)
Can I access this resource?
To access Sage Research Methods and Cases you must be either:
- A Teesside University undergraduate or postgraduate
- A member of Teesside University staff
- A TUCP student
If you are not a member of any of these groups then unfortunately our licence does not allow access to the resource

Use of licenced material
All electronic databases are covered by licences, and failure to adhere to the terms of the licences could result in the University losing access to these resources.
All databases are provided for educational use only.
A copy of the full terms of the Sage Research Methods & Cases licence can be found below.
List of electronic resource licences (Q-T)

Library Research Support

Support and Training

If you are a doctoral student or an academic, you can book appointments with your Academic Librarian.

If you want to know more about Open Access and Research Data Management then they will also be able to help.

Each tutorial is tailored to your own research interests and can help with:

Planning and Searching for your literature review
Making the most of Open Access
Keeping up to date with research

http://libguides.tees.ac.uk/researchers

Help - journal articles

The following guides will help you to develop your skills in finding journal articles:

Critical thinking - what it is and why it matters.

Developing Keywords

Succeed@Tees Workshops: Searching the Literature for Evidence Based Practice

Evidence Based Practice is about using the best available evidence on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions as a basis for professional decision making in practice. The evidence from the research should be used in conjunction with clinician expertise and patient choice. The following guides can help you to develop your skills in searching the literature for evidence based practice

Need to Search Grey Literature

Grey literature is material which is not usually published through normal channels. Examples of grey literature include: government reports, theses, conference papers and abstracts, discussion papers, newsletters, PowerPoint presentations, best practice documents, guidelines and protocols.

The helpsheet below details the best sources to use to find grey literature in health.

Library Helpsheet - Grey literature: Health
Library Helpsheets

The UK Health Security Agency have also compiled an index of grey literature and the link to this is below.

UK Health Security Agency: Grey literature: index and alternative sources and resources

Inter Library Loans

Have you found a useful resource that we do not have access to? The Inter Library Loan (ILL) service gives staff and students of Teesside University access to material not currently held by the Library. See the Inter Library Loan Guide for more information.

Inter Library Loan Guide